top of page

Organisation partenaire AKI - Bam Animal Clinics Ouganda

Humane saddle placed on a donkey while a group of people watch in Uganda Africa.

Partenariat d'AKI avec Bam Animal Clinics

Bam Animal Clinics-Uganda est devenu un partenaire AKI en janvier 2020. Bam a été fondé en juin 2009 et est situé dans le village de Nakavule, Iganga.  Alors qu'ils travaillent pour améliorer le bien-être de tous les animaux, AKI soutient spécifiquement le travail de Bam pour améliorer le bien-être des ânes en Ouganda.

 

Avant de devenir un partenaire AKI, Bam Animal Clinics était un bénéficiaire de la subvention 2019 AKI Africa-Based Animal Welfare Organization.  Pour leur projet de subvention, Bam a formé des propriétaires d'ânes dans le district de Kween, dans la région orientale de l'Ouganda, à fabriquer des selles en sac de sisal pour protéger les ânes des blessures causées par des selles mal faites ou de l'absence de selles du tout.

Dans le district de Kween, les ânes sont une source majeure de transport pour la nourriture, le bois de chauffage et l'eau. Le quartier est très vallonné et dispose d'un réseau routier très pauvre. Très souvent, les femmes sont les principales utilisatrices des ânes, puisqu'elles sont généralement chargées de récolter et d'obtenir du bois de chauffage et de l'eau.

 

Les services vétérinaires sont disponibles principalement dans les grands centres; les zones rurales sont moins bien desservies et les soins vétérinaires sont considérés comme trop coûteux pour la plupart des propriétaires d'ânes.

Les ânes sont généralement laissés sous la pluie et le soleil sans abri. Pendant la saison des pluies, les ânes sont généralement attachés à des points uniques pour les empêcher de paître sur les cultures. Les ânes sont abattus une fois qu'ils semblent malades, ou ils peuvent être vendus à des bouchers pour faire face à des obligations financières.

Le commerce de la peau d'âne est un problème dans cette zone, comme dans la plupart des régions où les ânes sont communs. Les Chinois fabriquent de l' ejao à partir de la peau, une substance censée (sans preuve scientifique) traiter de nombreuses maladies différentes. Les acheteurs chinois offrent de l'argent aux villageois pour leurs ânes - ou les ânes sont volés - et les populations d'ânes peuvent rapidement décliner, laissant les villageois sans aucun moyen de transporter l'essentiel.

Support Bam Animal Clinics Uganda

Bam Animal Clinics s'attaque aux mauvaises pratiques de sellerie, au manque de services vétérinaires et au commerce d'ejao par le biais de cours de formation sur le sac de selle en sisal (comme celui financé par la subvention AKI 2019, photos ci-dessous), par le biais de cliniques vétérinaires mobiles pour ânes et de communautés humanitaires. éducation.

Vous vous demandez ce que signifie Bam Animal Clinics ? David Balondemu, Fondateur & Directeur, explique :  

"Bam vient de Bamu qui signifie Unis dans notre langue locale, mais parce que lors de l'inscription, nous avons découvert que quelqu'un d'autre avait enregistré le même nom, nous avons coupé le 'U' pour qu'il reste pertinent avec notre sens d'origine. Les cliniques signifient bien sûr que nous avons stérilisation/stérilisation et autres cliniques, y compris les cliniques pour ânes... donc, Bam Animal Clinics."

En décembre 2019, j'ai (Karen) rencontré Bam Animal Clinics en Ouganda : Dr David Balondemu (fondateur, directeur et vétérinaire-1ère photo à gauche), Dr Kalange Muhamudu (vétérinaire bénévole Bam et vétérinaire de district, district de Bugweri -2e photo à gauche), et le Dr Kagoda Samuel (vétérinaire bénévole de Bam et vétérinaire de district, district d'Iganga - 1ère photo à droite). Les photos ci-dessous ont été prises à l'Uganda SPCA Haven (vous reconnaîtrez peut-être Alex Ochieng, responsable de Haven Shelter, au milieu). David, Muhamudu, Samuel et moi avons discuté du travail, des défis et des objectifs de Bam Animal Clinics, ainsi que des exigences du partenariat AKI.

Où sont passés vos dons ?

Pie chart showing how Bam Uganda in Africa spent donations in 2023.
Pie chart showing how Bam Uganda Africa spent donations in 2022.
Pie chart showing how Bam Uganda Africa spent donations in 2021.

Bam Animal Clinics Ouganda Mises à jour du blog AKI

Aucun post publié dans cette langue actuellement
Dès que de nouveaux posts seront publiés, vous les verrez ici.
bottom of page

AKI Partner Organization-Bam Animal Clinics Uganda

AKI's Partnership with Bam Animal Clinics

Bam Animal Clinics-Uganda became an AKI Partner in January 2020. Bam was founded in June 2009 and is located in Nakavule village, Iganga.  While they work to improve the welfare of all animals, AKI is specifically supporting Bam's work to improve donkey welfare in Uganda.

 

Prior to becoming an AKI Partner, Bam Animal Clinics was a 2019 AKI Africa-Based Animal Welfare Organization Grant Recipient.  For their grant project, Bam trained donkey owners in Kween district in the Eastern region of Uganda to make sisal sack saddles to protect donkeys from wounds caused by poorly made saddles or from using no saddles at all.

In Kween district, donkeys are a major source of transportation for food, fire wood, and water. The district is very hilly and has a very poor road network. Quite often, women are the major users of donkeys, since they are usually in charge of harvesting and getting fire wood and water.

 

Veterinary services are available mainly in the larger centers; the rural areas are less well-serviced and vet care is considered too expensive for most donkey owners.

Donkey are usually left in the rain and sun with no shelter. In rainy seasons, donkeys are usually pegged to single spots to prevent them from grazing on crops. Donkeys are slaughtered once they appear ill, or they may be sold to butchers to meet financial obligations.

The donkey skin trade is a problem in this area, as in most areas where donkeys are common. The Chinese make ejao out of the skin, a substance believed (without scientific evidence) to treat many different illnesses. Chinese buyers offer villagers money for their donkeys-or donkeys are stolen-and donkey populations can quickly decline, leaving villagers with no means to transport essentials.

Support BAM

Bam Animal Clinics is addressing the poor saddling practices, the lack of veterinary services, and the ejao trade through sisal saddle pack training courses (like the one funded with the 2019 AKI grant, pictures below), through mobile donkey vet clinics, and community humane education.

Wondering what Bam Animal Clinics means? David Balondemu, Founder & Director, explains: 

"Bam comes from Bamu meaning United in our local language, but because during registration we found someone else had registered the same name, we cut off the ‘U’ still to keep it relevant with our original meaning. Clinics of course means that we have spay/neuter and other clinics, including donkey clinics...therefore, Bam Animal Clinics."

In December 2019, I (Karen) met with Bam Animal Clinics in Uganda: Dr. David Balondemu (Founder, Director, and vet-1st picture on the left), Dr. Kalange Muhamudu (Bam volunteer vet and District Veterinary Officer, Bugweri district-2nd picture on the left), and Dr. Kagoda Samuel (Bam volunteer vet and District Veterinary Officer, Iganga district-1st picture on the right). The pictures below were taken at the Uganda SPCA Haven (you might recognize Haven Shelter Manager Alex Ochieng in the middle). David, Muhamudu, Samuel, and I discussed Bam Animal Clinics' work, challenges, and goals, and the requirements of AKI partnership.

Where Did Your Donations Go?

Bam 1-2022.png
Bam through 2021.png
Bam pie chart 2020

Bam Animal Clinics Uganda Updates from the AKI Blog