top of page

AKI-Partnerorganisation-Bam Animal Clinics Uganda

Humane saddle placed on a donkey while a group of people watch in Uganda Africa.

AKIs Partnerschaft mit Bam Animal Clinics

Bam Animal Clinics-Uganda wurde im Januar 2020 AKI-Partner. Bam wurde im Juni 2009 gegründet und hat seinen Sitz im Dorf Nakavule, Iganga.  Während sie daran arbeiten, das Wohlergehen aller Tiere zu verbessern, unterstützt AKI speziell Bams Arbeit zur Verbesserung des Wohlergehens von Eseln in Uganda.

 

Bevor Bam Animal Clinics AKI-Partner wurde, war es 2019 Empfänger von Stipendien der AKI Africa-Based Animal Welfare Organization.  Für ihr Förderprojekt schulte Bam Eselbesitzer im Distrikt Kween in der östlichen Region Ugandas darin, Sättel aus Sisalsäcken herzustellen, um Esel vor Wunden zu schützen, die durch schlecht gemachte Sättel oder durch das Nichtbenutzen von Sätteln verursacht werden.

Im Distrikt Kween sind Esel eine wichtige Transportquelle für Nahrung, Brennholz und Wasser. Der Bezirk ist sehr hügelig und hat ein sehr schlechtes Straßennetz. Häufig sind Frauen die Hauptnutzer von Eseln, da sie normalerweise für die Ernte und das Sammeln von Feuerholz und Wasser zuständig sind.

 

Veterinärdienste sind hauptsächlich in den größeren Zentren verfügbar; Die ländlichen Gebiete sind weniger gut versorgt und die tierärztliche Versorgung gilt den meisten Eselbesitzern als zu teuer.

Esel werden normalerweise ohne Unterschlupf im Regen und in der Sonne gelassen. In der Regenzeit werden Esel normalerweise an einzelne Stellen gebunden, um zu verhindern, dass sie auf Feldfrüchten grasen. Esel werden geschlachtet, sobald sie krank erscheinen, oder sie können an Metzger verkauft werden, um finanzielle Verpflichtungen zu erfüllen.

Der Handel mit Eselfellen ist in diesem Gebiet ein Problem, wie in den meisten Gebieten, in denen Esel verbreitet sind. Die Chinesen stellen Ejao aus der Haut her, eine Substanz, von der (ohne wissenschaftliche Beweise) angenommen wird, dass sie viele verschiedene Krankheiten behandelt. Chinesische Käufer bieten den Dorfbewohnern Geld für ihre Esel – oder Esel werden gestohlen – und die Eselpopulationen können schnell zurückgehen, sodass die Dorfbewohner keine Möglichkeit mehr haben, das Nötigste zu transportieren.

Support Bam Animal Clinics Uganda

Bam Animal Clinics befasst sich mit den schlechten Sattelpraktiken, dem Mangel an tierärztlichen Diensten und dem Ejao -Handel durch Sisal-Sattelpack-Schulungskurse (wie der mit dem AKI-Stipendium 2019 finanzierte, Bilder unten), durch mobile Esel-Tierkliniken und gemeinschaftliche Humanität Bildung.

Sie fragen sich, was Bam Animal Clinics bedeutet? David Balondemu, Gründer und Direktor, erklärt:  

„Bam kommt von Bamu und bedeutet in unserer Landessprache „ Vereinigt “, aber weil wir während der Registrierung festgestellt haben, dass jemand anderes denselben Namen registriert hat, haben wir das ‚U‘ abgeschnitten, um es mit unserer ursprünglichen Bedeutung relevant zu halten. Kliniken bedeutet natürlich, dass wir es getan haben Kastration/Neutrum und andere Kliniken, einschließlich Eselkliniken ... daher Bam Animal Clinics."

Im Dezember 2019 traf ich (Karen) die Tierkliniken von Bam in Uganda: Dr. David Balondemu (Gründer, Direktor und Tierarzt – 1. Bild links), Dr. Kalange Muhamudu (freiwilliger Tierarzt von Bam und Veterinärbeamter des Distrikts Bugweri). - 2. Bild links) und Dr. Kagoda Samuel (freiwilliger Tierarzt in Bam und Bezirkstierarzt, Iganga-Distrikt - 1. Bild rechts). Die folgenden Bilder wurden im Uganda SPCA Haven aufgenommen (vielleicht erkennen Sie Haven Shelter Manager Alex Ochieng in der Mitte). David, Muhamudu, Samuel und ich sprachen über die Arbeit, Herausforderungen und Ziele der Bam Animal Clinics und die Anforderungen einer AKI-Partnerschaft.

Wo sind Ihre Spenden geblieben?

Pie chart showing how Bam Uganda in Africa spent donations in 2023.
Pie chart showing how Bam Uganda Africa spent donations in 2022.
Pie chart showing how Bam Uganda Africa spent donations in 2021.

Bam Animal Clinics Uganda Updates vom AKI Blog

Noch keine Beiträge in dieser Sprache veröffentlicht
Sobald neue Beiträge veröffentlicht wurden, erscheinen diese hier.
bottom of page

AKI Partner Organization-Bam Animal Clinics Uganda

AKI's Partnership with Bam Animal Clinics

Bam Animal Clinics-Uganda became an AKI Partner in January 2020. Bam was founded in June 2009 and is located in Nakavule village, Iganga.  While they work to improve the welfare of all animals, AKI is specifically supporting Bam's work to improve donkey welfare in Uganda.

 

Prior to becoming an AKI Partner, Bam Animal Clinics was a 2019 AKI Africa-Based Animal Welfare Organization Grant Recipient.  For their grant project, Bam trained donkey owners in Kween district in the Eastern region of Uganda to make sisal sack saddles to protect donkeys from wounds caused by poorly made saddles or from using no saddles at all.

In Kween district, donkeys are a major source of transportation for food, fire wood, and water. The district is very hilly and has a very poor road network. Quite often, women are the major users of donkeys, since they are usually in charge of harvesting and getting fire wood and water.

 

Veterinary services are available mainly in the larger centers; the rural areas are less well-serviced and vet care is considered too expensive for most donkey owners.

Donkey are usually left in the rain and sun with no shelter. In rainy seasons, donkeys are usually pegged to single spots to prevent them from grazing on crops. Donkeys are slaughtered once they appear ill, or they may be sold to butchers to meet financial obligations.

The donkey skin trade is a problem in this area, as in most areas where donkeys are common. The Chinese make ejao out of the skin, a substance believed (without scientific evidence) to treat many different illnesses. Chinese buyers offer villagers money for their donkeys-or donkeys are stolen-and donkey populations can quickly decline, leaving villagers with no means to transport essentials.

Support BAM

Bam Animal Clinics is addressing the poor saddling practices, the lack of veterinary services, and the ejao trade through sisal saddle pack training courses (like the one funded with the 2019 AKI grant, pictures below), through mobile donkey vet clinics, and community humane education.

Wondering what Bam Animal Clinics means? David Balondemu, Founder & Director, explains: 

"Bam comes from Bamu meaning United in our local language, but because during registration we found someone else had registered the same name, we cut off the ‘U’ still to keep it relevant with our original meaning. Clinics of course means that we have spay/neuter and other clinics, including donkey clinics...therefore, Bam Animal Clinics."

In December 2019, I (Karen) met with Bam Animal Clinics in Uganda: Dr. David Balondemu (Founder, Director, and vet-1st picture on the left), Dr. Kalange Muhamudu (Bam volunteer vet and District Veterinary Officer, Bugweri district-2nd picture on the left), and Dr. Kagoda Samuel (Bam volunteer vet and District Veterinary Officer, Iganga district-1st picture on the right). The pictures below were taken at the Uganda SPCA Haven (you might recognize Haven Shelter Manager Alex Ochieng in the middle). David, Muhamudu, Samuel, and I discussed Bam Animal Clinics' work, challenges, and goals, and the requirements of AKI partnership.

Where Did Your Donations Go?

Bam 1-2022.png
Bam through 2021.png
Bam pie chart 2020

Bam Animal Clinics Uganda Updates from the AKI Blog