top of page

Organisation partenaire AKI-Ghana Society for the Protection and Care of Animals (GSPCA)

Students in Humane Education class taught by our rescue and protection organization in Ghana in Africa showing off the cards they received with animals on them.

​Partenariat d'AKI avec la société ghanéenne pour la protection et le soin des animaux

A Humane Education class visit to Tafi Atome Monkey Sanctuary in Ghana Africa sponsored by Animal Kind International.
A Humane Education class in Ghana in Africa with the teacher and one student in an animal quiz contest.

L'objectif principal de GSPCA est l'éducation humaine. Depuis 2004, GSPCA a fourni Humane Ed dans les écoles du Ghana, atteignant environ 500 étudiants chaque semestre, et depuis son lancement, le programme HE a atteint plusieurs milliers.

 

Comment ça marche? 

Les bénévoles de la GSPCA, David (en haut à gauche) et Aluizah (à gauche), visitent les écoles et discutent du programme HE avec les administrateurs de l'école pour obtenir la permission d'organiser le programme à l'école. Ensuite, ils travaillent avec le personnel pour identifier 1 à 2 enseignants leaders, et ils encadrent les enseignants au cours du programme de 8 semaines.

Les étudiants HE forment des clubs de gentillesse et à travers ces clubs, le programme HE se poursuit, même lorsque le programme HE officiel est terminé. Les Kindness Clubs parrainent des projets (par exemple, des cliniques contre la rage, des journées de sensibilisation, des événements de la Journée mondiale des animaux) avec l'aide de David et Aluizah et des enseignants de l'enseignement supérieur.

GSPCA et AKI sont partenaires depuis 2007.  Grâce à vos dons à AKI, nous avons soutenu la photocopie du manuel sur le bien-être animal à 3 USD/manuel (chaque étudiant de l'enseignement supérieur reçoit son propre manuel à conserver pour toujours), le transport vers/depuis les écoles afin que David et Aluizah  peut travailler au démarrage du programme HE et peut encadrer les enseignants de l'enseignement supérieur, de petites allocations pour les enseignants de l'enseignement supérieur et les activités de terrain les plus populaires de l'enseignement supérieur.

Donate to Ghana Society for the Protection & Care of Animals

Grâce aux dons d'AKI, la GSPCA a emmené des étudiants de l'enseignement supérieur faire 4 à 6 sorties sur le terrain/an depuis 2014 (sauf pour 2020 et 2021 en raison des restrictions covid). Ils ont visité des cliniques vétérinaires, des sanctuaires fauniques et le centre de recherche sur le bétail de l'Université d'Accra (l'un des domaines d'intérêt est l'élevage sans cruauté).  Les sorties sur le terrain sont souvent la première et la seule occasion pour ces étudiants de voir la faune de leur pays, de rencontrer un vétérinaire pour petits animaux et d'apprendre de première main les bons soins des chats et des chiens.  

Pour environ 70 écoliers, une excursion scolaire coûte environ 300 à 400 dollars américains (les fonds sont utilisés pour organiser le voyage, pour la location du bus, de petites allocations pour les enseignants de l'enseignement supérieur qui accompagnent les élèves et des collations).

Des photos  à droite : sorties sur le terrain de la GSPCA (photos 1 à 4) ; les étudiants posent avec leurs manuels de bien-être animal (photo 5); Aluizah, animatrice d'une session d'enseignement supérieur, une enseignante très enthousiaste (photo 6) ; cortège de la Journée mondiale des animaux (photo 7); David dirige un groupe d'étudiants lors de la Journée mondiale des animaux (photo 8) ; Aluizah présente un certificat de fin d'année à l'enseignant Humane Ed, Nana (photo 9).

Où sont passés vos dons ?

Pie chart showing how Ghana Society for the Protection and Care of Animals our Partner animal welfare organization in Africa used donations in 2020.
Pie chart showing how Ghana Society for the Protection and Care of Animals our Partner animal welfare organization in Africa used donations in 2019.
Pie chart showing how Ghana Society for the Protection and Care of Animals our Partner animal welfare organization in Africa used donations in 2018.

Mises à jour GSPCA du blog AKI

Aucun post publié dans cette langue actuellement
Dès que de nouveaux posts seront publiés, vous les verrez ici.

Vidéos de la GSPCA

Cette vidéo SPCA du Ghana, filmée par Aluizah Amasaba Abdul Yakeen, GSPCA Humane Educator, est de la Zebilla Community Donkey and Dog Vet Clinic, la toute première clinique vétérinaire à Zebilla, dans l'extrême nord du Ghana, rendue possible grâce aux donateurs AKI ! Après avoir terminé la session Humane Ed, les étudiants ont formé un club de gentillesse animale et les membres du club ont organisé cette clinique.

Aluizah a créé cette vidéo de la visite sur le terrain organisée en novembre 2018 par la GSPCA et financée par l'AKI au club de polo d'Accra. Pour la 1ère fois, les étudiants de GSPCA Humane Education ont vu des chevaux de près, les ont touchés, et les plus courageux d'entre eux ont lavé et soigné des chevaux. Ils ont appris les bons soins aux chevaux et les métiers liés aux chevaux. 

GSPCA a emmené des étudiants Humane Ed de 2 écoles en excursion à la clinique vétérinaire LEMLA en juillet 2017. C'est la 1ère opportunité pour la plupart des étudiants de caresser des chiens (en particulier les petits chiens flous), d'apprendre ce que font les vétérinaires et les techniciens vétérinaires, et de vivre une atmosphère où chacun se soucie sincèrement des chats et des chiens. (Crédit vidéo : Aluizah Amasaba)

Grâce au financement de l'AKI, la SPCA du Ghana a emmené des étudiants Humane Ed  lors d'une excursion à la clinique La Vet. Les étudiants ont pu visiter l'établissement, se renseigner sur les soins vétérinaires et voir de leurs propres yeux ce que font les vétérinaires, y compris la chirurgie, le déparasitage et d'autres soins aux animaux. Aller dans une clinique vétérinaire avec leur animal de compagnie n'est pas une expérience que la plupart des Ghanéens ont, en particulier une clinique de premier ordre comme La Vet. (Crédit vidéo : Aluizah Amasaba)

bottom of page

AKI Partner Organization-Ghana Society for the Protection and Care of Animals (GSPCA)

Schools in Ghana are now open partially and the plan is that by October 15, Junior High Schools and Senior High Schools will return to school to complete the academic year. That means that Ghana SPCA's Humane Education activities are partially up and running and will be up to full speed in October-with covid-19 safeguards in place, of course!

​AKI's Partnership with Ghana Society for the Protection and Care of Animals

GSPCA's main focus is Humane Education. Since 2004, GSPCA has provided Humane Ed in Ghana's schools, reaching about 500 students every semester, and since its start, the HE Program has reached many 1000s.

 

How does it work? 

GSPCA volunteers, David (left top) and Aluizah (left), visit schools and discuss the HE Program with school administrators to obtain permission to hold the program at the school. Then they work with the staff to identify 1 to 2 teacher leaders, and they mentor the teachers over the 8-week program to ensure they feel comfortable giving HE instruction.

​HE students form Kindness Clubs and through these Clubs, the HE Program continues on, even when the formal HE Program is over. The Kindness Clubs implement animal welfare projects and GSPCA's David and Aluizah and the HE teachers continue to work with them.

GSPCA and AKI have been partners since 2007. AKI is the GSPCA’s main donor. Thanks to your donations to AKI, we've supported photocopying of the Animal Welfare Manual at US$3/manual (every HE student gets his/her own manual to keep forever), transport to/from schools so that David and Aluizah  can work on start-up of the HE Program in new schools and can mentor HE teachers, small stipends for HE teachers, and the most popular HE activity- field trips.

With donations from AKI, GSPCA has taken HE students on 4 to 6 field trips/year since 2014. They've visited vet clinics, wildlife sanctuaries, and the University of Accra's Livestock Research Center (one of the focus areas is humane livestock raising).  Field trips are often the 1st and only opportunity for these students to see their country's wildlife, meet a small animal vet, and learn first hand about good cat and dog care. 

For about 70 school children, a field trip costs about US$300-400 (funds are used to organize the trip, for bus rental, small stipends for HE teachers who accompany the students, and snacks).

Pictures  right: GSPCA field trips (pictures 1-4); students pose with their Animal Welfare Manuals (picture 5); Aluizah, leading an HE session, a very enthusiastic teacher (picture 6); World Animal Day procession (picture 7); David leads a group of students during World Animal Day (picture 8); Aluizah presents an end of year certificate to Humane Ed teacher, Nana (picture 9).

Where Did Your Donations Go?
GSPCA Updates from the AKI Blog
Videos and More

This Ghana SPCA video, filmed by Aluizah Amasaba Abdul Yakeen, GSPCA Humane Educator, is of the Zebilla Community Donkey and Dog Vet Clinic, the 1st ever vet clinic in Zebilla, in the far north of Ghana-made possible thanks to AKI donors! After completing the Humane Ed session, the students formed an Animal Kindness Club and club members organized this clinic.

Aluizah created this video of the November 2018 GSPCA-hosted, AKI-funded field trip to the Accra Polo Club. For the 1st time, GSPCA Humane Education students saw horses up close, touched horses, and the braver among them washed and groomed horses. They learned about good horse care and about professions that involve horses. 

GSPCA took Humane Ed students from 2 schools on a field trip to LEMLA Vet Clinic in July 2017. This is the 1st opportunity for most of the students to pet dogs (especially small, fuzzy dogs), learn about what vets and vet techs do, and to experience an atmosphere where everyone sincerely cares for cats and dogs. (Video credit: Aluizah Amasaba)

With AKI funding, Ghana SPCA took Humane Ed students  on a field trip to La Vet clinic. Students were given a tour of the facility, learned about vet care and saw firsthand what vets do--including surgery, de-worming, and other animal care. Going to a vet clinic with their pet is not an experience that most Ghanaians have--especially a first-rate clinic like La Vet. (Video credit: Aluizah Amasaba)

A Ghana SPCA Kindness Club -the Zebra Kindness Club- at Trust Academy votes for officers. Watch as the Humane Education students tell their colleagues why they are the best candidate! (GSPCA's Humane Ed students form Kindness Clubs, after-school clubs that continue the lessons learned in Humane Ed sessions.)

Click to read about a picture or to watch a video...

Animal-Kind International

PO Box 300

 Jemez Springs, NM 87025 USA  

Phone: 575-834-0908

karen@animal-kind.org

2020-top-rated-awards-badge-resized.webp
GuideStar 2020 Platinum 500x500.png
index.png
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • RSS Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon

AKI's Tax ID # is 74-3230332

site design petitetaway.com 

Animal Kind International
SUPPORTaki.png
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • RSS Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon