top of page

AKI-Partnerorganisation-Ghana Society for the Protection and Care of Animals (GSPCA)

Students in Humane Education class taught by our rescue and protection organization in Ghana in Africa showing off the cards they received with animals on them.

​AKIs Partnerschaft mit der Ghana Society for the Protection and Care of Animals

A Humane Education class visit to Tafi Atome Monkey Sanctuary in Ghana Africa sponsored by Animal Kind International.
A Humane Education class in Ghana in Africa with the teacher and one student in an animal quiz contest.

Das Hauptaugenmerk von GSPCA liegt auf der humanen Bildung. Seit 2004 bietet GSPCA Humane Ed in Ghanas Schulen an und erreicht jedes Semester etwa 500 Studenten, und seit seinem Start hat das HE-Programm viele 1000 erreicht.

 

Wie funktioniert es? 

Die GSPCA-Freiwilligen David (links oben) und Aluizah (links) besuchen Schulen und besprechen das HE-Programm mit der Schulverwaltung, um die Erlaubnis zu erhalten, das Programm an der Schule abzuhalten. Dann arbeiten sie mit den Mitarbeitern zusammen, um 1 bis 2 Lehrerführer zu identifizieren, und betreuen die Lehrer während des 8-wöchigen Programms.

HE-Studenten gründen Kindness Clubs und durch diese Clubs wird das HE-Programm fortgesetzt, auch wenn das formelle HE-Programm beendet ist. Die Kindness Clubs sponsern Projekte (z. B. Tollwutkliniken, Sensibilisierungstage, Veranstaltungen zum Welttiertag) mit der Hilfe von David und Aluizah und den HE-Lehrern.

GSPCA und AKI sind seit 2007 Partner.  Dank Ihrer Spenden an AKI haben wir das Fotokopieren des Tierschutzhandbuchs für 3 US-Dollar pro Handbuch unterstützt (jeder HE-Student erhält sein eigenes Handbuch, das er für immer behalten kann), den Transport zu/von Schulen, damit David und Aluizah  kann am Start des Hochschulprogramms arbeiten und Hochschullehrer betreuen, kleine Stipendien für Hochschullehrer und die beliebtesten Hochschulaktivitäten – Exkursionen.

Donate to Ghana Society for the Protection & Care of Animals

Mit Spenden von AKI hat die GSPCA seit 2014 Hochschulstudenten auf 4 bis 6 Exkursionen pro Jahr mitgenommen (außer 2020 und 2021 aufgrund von Covid-Einschränkungen). Sie haben Tierkliniken, Wildschutzgebiete und das Viehforschungszentrum der Universität von Accra (einer der Schwerpunkte ist die artgerechte Viehzucht) besucht.  Exkursionen sind oft die erste und einzige Gelegenheit für diese Schüler, die Tierwelt ihres Landes zu sehen, einen Tierarzt für Kleintiere zu treffen und aus erster Hand etwas über gute Katzen- und Hundepflege zu lernen.  

Für etwa 70 Schulkinder kostet eine Exkursion etwa 300-400 US-Dollar (die Mittel werden für die Organisation der Reise, die Busmiete, kleine Stipendien für Hochschullehrer, die die Schüler begleiten, und Snacks verwendet).

Bilder  rechts: GSPCA-Exkursionen (Bilder 1-4); Schüler posieren mit ihren Tierschutzhandbüchern (Bild 5); Aluizah, Leiterin einer HE-Sitzung, eine sehr enthusiastische Lehrerin (Bild 6); Prozession zum Welttiertag (Bild 7); David leitet eine Gruppe von Schülern während des Welttierschutztages (Bild 8); Aluizah überreicht der Humane Ed-Lehrerin Nana (Bild 9) ein Zertifikat zum Jahresende.

Wo sind Ihre Spenden geblieben?

Pie chart showing how Ghana Society for the Protection and Care of Animals our Partner animal welfare organization in Africa used donations in 2020.
Pie chart showing how Ghana Society for the Protection and Care of Animals our Partner animal welfare organization in Africa used donations in 2019.
Pie chart showing how Ghana Society for the Protection and Care of Animals our Partner animal welfare organization in Africa used donations in 2018.

GSPCA-Updates aus dem AKI-Blog

Noch keine Beiträge in dieser Sprache veröffentlicht
Sobald neue Beiträge veröffentlicht wurden, erscheinen diese hier.

GSPCA-Videos

Dieses Ghana SPCA-Video, gefilmt von Aluizah Amasaba Abdul Yakeen, GSPCA Humane Educator, ist von der Zebilla Community Donkey and Dog Vet Clinic, der allerersten Tierklinik in Zebilla, im hohen Norden von Ghana – ermöglicht durch AKI-Spender! Nach Abschluss der Humane Ed-Sitzung gründeten die Studenten einen Animal Kindness Club und Clubmitglieder organisierten diese Klinik.

Aluizah hat dieses Video der im November 2018 von der GSPCA veranstalteten und von der AKI finanzierten Exkursion zum Accra Polo Club erstellt. Zum ersten Mal sahen Schüler der GSPCA Humane Education Pferde aus nächster Nähe, berührten Pferde und die Mutigeren unter ihnen wuschen und pflegten Pferde. Sie lernten etwas über gute Pferdepflege und über Berufe, die mit Pferden zu tun haben. 

Die GSPCA nahm im Juli 2017 Humane Ed-Studenten von 2 Schulen mit auf eine Exkursion zur LEMLA Vet Clinic. Dies ist die erste Gelegenheit für die meisten Schüler, Hunde (insbesondere kleine, flauschige Hunde) zu streicheln und zu erfahren, was Tierärzte und Veterinärtechniker tun. und eine Atmosphäre zu erleben, in der sich jeder aufrichtig um Katzen und Hunde kümmert. (Bildnachweis: Aluizah Amasaba)

Mit AKI-Finanzierung nahm Ghana SPCA Humane Ed-Studenten auf  auf einer Exkursion in die Klinik La Vet. Die Schüler erhielten einen Rundgang durch die Einrichtung, lernten etwas über tierärztliche Versorgung und sahen aus erster Hand, was Tierärzte tun – einschließlich Operationen, Entwurmungen und andere Tierpflege. Mit ihrem Haustier in eine Tierklinik zu gehen ist keine Erfahrung, die die meisten Ghanaer machen – besonders eine erstklassige Klinik wie La Vet. (Bildnachweis: Aluizah Amasaba)

bottom of page

AKI Partner Organization-Ghana Society for the Protection and Care of Animals (GSPCA)

Schools in Ghana are now open partially and the plan is that by October 15, Junior High Schools and Senior High Schools will return to school to complete the academic year. That means that Ghana SPCA's Humane Education activities are partially up and running and will be up to full speed in October-with covid-19 safeguards in place, of course!

​AKI's Partnership with Ghana Society for the Protection and Care of Animals

GSPCA's main focus is Humane Education. Since 2004, GSPCA has provided Humane Ed in Ghana's schools, reaching about 500 students every semester, and since its start, the HE Program has reached many 1000s.

 

How does it work? 

GSPCA volunteers, David (left top) and Aluizah (left), visit schools and discuss the HE Program with school administrators to obtain permission to hold the program at the school. Then they work with the staff to identify 1 to 2 teacher leaders, and they mentor the teachers over the 8-week program to ensure they feel comfortable giving HE instruction.

​HE students form Kindness Clubs and through these Clubs, the HE Program continues on, even when the formal HE Program is over. The Kindness Clubs implement animal welfare projects and GSPCA's David and Aluizah and the HE teachers continue to work with them.

GSPCA and AKI have been partners since 2007. AKI is the GSPCA’s main donor. Thanks to your donations to AKI, we've supported photocopying of the Animal Welfare Manual at US$3/manual (every HE student gets his/her own manual to keep forever), transport to/from schools so that David and Aluizah  can work on start-up of the HE Program in new schools and can mentor HE teachers, small stipends for HE teachers, and the most popular HE activity- field trips.

With donations from AKI, GSPCA has taken HE students on 4 to 6 field trips/year since 2014. They've visited vet clinics, wildlife sanctuaries, and the University of Accra's Livestock Research Center (one of the focus areas is humane livestock raising).  Field trips are often the 1st and only opportunity for these students to see their country's wildlife, meet a small animal vet, and learn first hand about good cat and dog care. 

For about 70 school children, a field trip costs about US$300-400 (funds are used to organize the trip, for bus rental, small stipends for HE teachers who accompany the students, and snacks).

Pictures  right: GSPCA field trips (pictures 1-4); students pose with their Animal Welfare Manuals (picture 5); Aluizah, leading an HE session, a very enthusiastic teacher (picture 6); World Animal Day procession (picture 7); David leads a group of students during World Animal Day (picture 8); Aluizah presents an end of year certificate to Humane Ed teacher, Nana (picture 9).

Where Did Your Donations Go?
GSPCA Updates from the AKI Blog
Videos and More

This Ghana SPCA video, filmed by Aluizah Amasaba Abdul Yakeen, GSPCA Humane Educator, is of the Zebilla Community Donkey and Dog Vet Clinic, the 1st ever vet clinic in Zebilla, in the far north of Ghana-made possible thanks to AKI donors! After completing the Humane Ed session, the students formed an Animal Kindness Club and club members organized this clinic.

Aluizah created this video of the November 2018 GSPCA-hosted, AKI-funded field trip to the Accra Polo Club. For the 1st time, GSPCA Humane Education students saw horses up close, touched horses, and the braver among them washed and groomed horses. They learned about good horse care and about professions that involve horses. 

GSPCA took Humane Ed students from 2 schools on a field trip to LEMLA Vet Clinic in July 2017. This is the 1st opportunity for most of the students to pet dogs (especially small, fuzzy dogs), learn about what vets and vet techs do, and to experience an atmosphere where everyone sincerely cares for cats and dogs. (Video credit: Aluizah Amasaba)

With AKI funding, Ghana SPCA took Humane Ed students  on a field trip to La Vet clinic. Students were given a tour of the facility, learned about vet care and saw firsthand what vets do--including surgery, de-worming, and other animal care. Going to a vet clinic with their pet is not an experience that most Ghanaians have--especially a first-rate clinic like La Vet. (Video credit: Aluizah Amasaba)

A Ghana SPCA Kindness Club -the Zebra Kindness Club- at Trust Academy votes for officers. Watch as the Humane Education students tell their colleagues why they are the best candidate! (GSPCA's Humane Ed students form Kindness Clubs, after-school clubs that continue the lessons learned in Humane Ed sessions.)

Click to read about a picture or to watch a video...

Animal-Kind International

PO Box 300

 Jemez Springs, NM 87025 USA  

Phone: 575-834-0908

karen@animal-kind.org

2020-top-rated-awards-badge-resized.webp
GuideStar 2020 Platinum 500x500.png
index.png
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • RSS Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon

AKI's Tax ID # is 74-3230332

site design petitetaway.com 

Animal Kind International
SUPPORTaki.png
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • RSS Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon