top of page

AKI-Partnerorganisation – Liberia Animal Welfare & Conservation Society (LAWCS)

A woman and man with several kids and their dogs on their laps in Liberia at an animal welfare and basic care clinic in Africa.

AKIs Partnerschaft mit der Liberia Animal Welfare & Conservation Society

The Liberia animal welfare team at their office in Voinjama Liberia in Africa.

LAWCS wurde 2004 ins Leben gerufen, als der Gründer Morris Darbo (Bild oben, Mitte) und einige andere besorgte Tierfreunde in Lofa County, Liberia, begannen, sich gegen die mangelnde Fürsorge für Haustiere, insbesondere Katzen und Hunde, einzusetzen.

Bis 2004 hatte die Zahl der Hunde auf den Straßen in Liberias Städten und Gemeinden mit einer alarmierenden Geschwindigkeit zugenommen, wobei die meisten Liberianer die Hunde scherzhaft als „Bürger“ bezeichneten. Straßenhunde und -katzen wurden misshandelt, waren hungrig und krank.

Donate to Liberia Animal Welfare & Conservation Society

Liberia litt jahrelang unter einem außergewöhnlich gewalttätigen und traumatischen Bürgerkrieg. Das Land spürt noch immer die Auswirkungen. LAWCS setzt sich mit einer klaren Botschaft der Gewaltlosigkeit, der Charakterbildung, der Beendigung des Tierleids und der Schaffung einer gerechten, fürsorglichen und sozial verantwortlichen Gesellschaft für die Genesung Liberias ein.

AKI unterstützt das LAWCS Humane Education Program (schulinternes Programm, außerschulische Freundlichkeitsclubs und Sensibilisierung der Gemeinschaft) in Lofa County.

AKI unterstützt auch LAWCS Community Animal Care Clinics , wo kostenlose, grundlegende Tierpflege für Haustiere in Lofa County angeboten wird, wo es keine andere tierärztliche Versorgung gibt. Tatsächlich praktizieren nur ein paar kleine Tierärzte in Liberia, und sie sind viele Stunden entfernt in Monrovia!  LAWCS-Freiwilliger Abraham erhielt eine Ausbildung zum Tierpfleger in der Gemeinde und impft, entwurmt und bietet andere grundlegende Haustierpflege an.  

Nachdem wir ab 2013 geholfen hatten (Beratung, technische Unterstützung und Besuch von LAWCS, Teilnahme an ihren Kliniken für Humane Ed und grundlegende Tierpflege), machten wir LAWCS im Januar 2016 zu einer AKI-Partnerorganisation.

Wo sind Ihre Spenden geblieben?
Pie chart showing how Liberia animal rescue and protection organization spent donations in 2023.
Pie chart showing how Liberia animal rescue and protection organization spent donations in 2022.
Pie chart showing how Liberia animal rescue and protection organization spent donations in 2021.

LAWCS-Updates aus dem AKI-Blog

Noch keine Beiträge in dieser Sprache veröffentlicht
Sobald neue Beiträge veröffentlicht wurden, erscheinen diese hier.

Fotos oben: Community Animal Care Clinics; das LAWCS-Team in ihrem Büro in Voinjama, das von AKI gespendetes Humane Education-Material zeigt; Hajja, der Finanzbeauftragte von LAWCS; Kindness Clubs sponsern Hundeshampoo-Tage.

bottom of page

AKI Partner Organization-Liberia Animal Welfare & Conservation Society (LAWCS)

AKI's Partnership with Liberia Animal Welfare & Conservation Society
LAWCS team with Tina's donation.JPG

LAWCS started in 2004 when the founder, Morris Darbo (picture above, in the middle), and some other concerned animal lovers in Lofa County, Liberia, began to campaign about the lack of care of domestic animals, especially cats and dogs.

By 2004, the number of dogs on the streets in Liberia's cities and towns had increased at an alarming rate, with most Liberians referring to the dogs jokingly as "citizens." Street dogs and cats were abused, were hungry and sick.

Liberia suffered years of exceptionally violent and traumatic civil war. The country is still recovering. Liberia not only faces rampant animal abuse and abject poverty, the younger generation, because of the country’s traumas, is exhibiting dysfunctional behaviors.  LAWCS is committed to Liberia’s recovery with a clear message of non-violence, character building, ending animal suffering and creating a just, caring, and socially responsible society.

LAWCS.jpg

LAWCS also holds Community Animal Care Clinics, offering free, basic animal care in Lofa County, where there is no other vet care. As a matter of fact, the only small animal vet in Liberia is hours away, in Monrovia!  LAWCS volunteer, Abraham, received training to become a community animal healthcare worker, and vaccinates, de-worms, and provides other basic pet care. 

After helping (advice, technical support, and visiting LAWCS, taking part in their Humane Ed and basic animal care clinics) over a 2-year period starting in 2013, we at AKI knew we wanted to contribute more to the work they're doing and to help them financially. So we made LAWCS an AKI Partner Organization in January 2016.

LAWCS Promotes Kindness to Cats

Where Did Your Donations Go?
LAWCS pie chart 2020.png
LAWCS pie chart 2019 .png
LAWCS pie chart 2018.png
LAWCS Updates from the AKI Blog
Videos and More

Photos above: Community Animal Care Clinics; the LAWCS Team at their Voinjama office, showing Humane Education material donated through AKI; Hajja, the LAWCS financial officer