top of page

AKI-Partnerorganisation – Kingston Community Animal Welfare (KCAW)

Hungry street dogs given food placed on a newspaper  from our animal rescue and protection organization in Kingston Jamaica in the Caribbean.

AKIs Partnerschaft mit Kingston Community Animal Welfare

Seit über 30 Jahren füttert und pflegt Deborah Binns (Bild rechts, zieht einen Hund aus einem Kanal) einige der bedürftigsten Katzen und Hunde in Kingston, Jamaika – die Hunde und Katzen, die durch die Straßen streifen, und Haustiere, die ihr gehören Familien ohne/mit niedrigem Einkommen. Deborah und ihr Netzwerk von Helfern kümmern sich in Kingston um etwa 1000 Katzen und Hunde.

KCAW kastriert/kastriert, füttert, bietet bei Bedarf tierärztliche Versorgung und überwacht Straßentiere, um sicherzustellen, dass sie sicher und gesund bleiben. KCAW ist die einzige Organisation, die sich voll und ganz dafür einsetzt, den Tieren zu helfen, die auf der Straße leben.

Deborah rescuing a dog from a gully in Kingston

KCAW hilft auch etwa 100 Familien mit niedrigem oder keinem Einkommen, die sich gut um ihre Haustiere kümmern, sich aber manchmal einfach nicht leisten können, Futter zu kaufen oder die notwendige tierärztliche Versorgung zu leisten.

 

Das KCAW-Netzwerk von Gemeindemitgliedern wacht über die Straßentiere und hilft sicherzustellen, dass ihnen kein Schaden zugefügt wird und dass sie von den Nachbarn freundlich behandelt werden.Sie sagen ihr, wenn etwas mit einer Katze oder einem Hund nicht stimmt, und sie versorgen sie an den Tagen, an denen Deborah nicht vorbeischaut, mit Futter. KCAW arbeitet in den ärmsten Vierteln, und die Menschen dort vertrauen Deborah; Sie kennt jeden in „ihren“ Gemeinschaften – die Menschen, Hunde und Katzen.

Support Kingston Community Animal Welfare, Jamaica

Deborah hat auch ein kleines Tierheim in ihrem Haus (renoviert und erweitert mit AKI-Geldern), wo sie Welpen, Hunde, Katzen und Kätzchen aufnimmt, die von der Straße weg müssen.  

 

Sie findet dann ein Zuhause für sie – aber erst, nachdem sie sterilisiert wurden, und sie wird nur in Häusern adoptieren, in denen sie weiß, dass sie ein Leben lang geliebt werden.

KCAW ist seit 2007, dem Gründungsjahr von AKI, eine AKI-Partnerorganisation. AKI-Spender stellen etwa 90 % des KCAW-Budgets bereit.

Die Bilder rechts zeigen einige von Kingstons Straßenkatzen und -hunden, die KCAW füttert und pflegt ( klicken Sie auf ein Bild, um mehr zu erfahren ).

 

Der weiße Hund im unteren mittleren Bild hat nur noch 2 Zähne; Der braune Hund auf dem unteren Bild, Grannie, war 13 Jahre alt, als dieses Bild gemacht wurde, hatte nur noch 4 Zähne, aber sie war ein glücklicher, gesunder Straßenhund und einer von Deborahs Lieblingen.

Wo sind Ihre Spenden geblieben?
Pie chart showing how Kingston Community Animal Welfare Jamaica spent Animal Kind International donations in 2023.
Pie chart showing how Kingston Community Animal Welfare in Jamaica spent Animal Kind International donations in 2022.
Pie chart showing how Kingston Community Animal Welfare in Jamaica spent Animal Kind International donations in 2021.

KCAW-Updates aus dem AKI-Blog

Noch keine Beiträge in dieser Sprache veröffentlicht
Sobald neue Beiträge veröffentlicht wurden, erscheinen diese hier.
KCAW in Bildern & Videos
Anmerkung von AKI-Gründerin Karen Menczer

Ich lebte zehn Monate in Jamaika und verbrachte jeden Samstag mit Deborah, brachte den Leuten Essen, um die Ernährung ihrer Hunde und Katzen zu ergänzen, und erklärte den Leuten, dass Hunde mehr als einmal pro Woche fressen müssen (ein Missverständnis, das unter ihnen ziemlich verbreitet zu sein schien Haustierbesitzer), Menschen davon zu überzeugen, dass ihre Katzen und Hunde Wasser genauso brauchen wie Menschen, sich um ihre kranken und verletzten Hunde und Katzen kümmern, ihre Haustiere kastrieren und kastrieren lassen und Straßenhunde und -katzen besuchen und füttern, die kein Wasser bekommen hätten andere Sorge, wenn da nicht Deborah/KCAW wäre.

 

Ich bin nur samstags mit Deborah gefahren, aber Deborah fährt jeden einzelnen Tag der Woche andere Wege, wo sie Essen bringt, nach Hunden und Katzen schaut und mit Nachbarn über ihre Haustiere und die Straßenkatzen und -hunde spricht.

 

Die Menschen – ebenso wie die Tiere – auf ihren Runden erwarten sie, und wenn sie nicht auftaucht, klingelt ihr Telefon: „Ms. Binns, geht es Ihnen gut? Wir haben Sie heute nicht gesehen und machen uns Sorgen über dich." Deborah ist dafür verantwortlich, Hunderte von Hunden und Katzen sterilisieren zu lassen und regelmäßig über 500 Tiere zu versorgen – und Zehntausende von Tieren im Laufe ihrer Tierschutzkarriere.

bottom of page

AKI Partner Organization-Kingston Community Animal Welfare (KCAW)

AKI's Partnership with Kingston Community Animal Welfare

For over 30 years, Deborah Binns (picture right, pulling a dog out of a canal) has been feeding and caring for some of the neediest cats and dogs in Kingston, Jamaica--the dogs and cats who roam the streets and pets belonging to no/low income families. Deborah and her network of helpers care for about 1000 cats and dogs in Kingston.

KCAW spays/neuters, feeds, provides vet care when needed, and monitors street animals to make sure they stay safe and healthy. KCAW is the only organization that is fully committed to helping the animals living on the streets.

Deborah rescuing Girl from a drainage di

KCAW also helps about 100 low/no income families, who take good care of their pets, but sometimes just can't afford to buy food or provide needed vet care.

 

KCAW's network of community members watch over the street animals, helping to make sure that no harm comes to them and that they're treated kindly by neighbors. ​They let her know if something is wrong with a cat or dog, and they provide food on the days that Deborah doesn’t stop by. KCAW works in the poorest neighborhoods, and Deborah's trusted by the people there; she knows everyone in “her” communities—the people, dogs, and cats.

kcaw

​Deborah also has a small shelter at her house (renovated and expanded with AKI funds), where she takes puppies, dogs, cats, and kittens that need to get off the streets. 

 

She then finds homes for them—but only after they've been sterilized, and she will only adopt to homes where she knows that they'll have a lifetime of love.

KCAW has been an AKI Partner Organization since 2007, the year AKI started. AKI donors provide about 90% of KCAW's budget.

Pictures to the right show some of Kingston's street cats and dogs that KCAW feeds and cares for (click on a picture to learn more).

 

The white dog in the bottom-middle picture has only 2 teeth left; the brown dog in the bottom picture, Grannie, was 13 years old when this picture was taken, had only 4 teeth left, but she was a happy, healthy street dog and one of Deborah's favorites.

Street dog feeding
press to zoom
Street dog feeding
press to zoom
Feeding street cats
press to zoom
Street cat feeding
press to zoom
Deborah preparing dog food
press to zoom
A family of cats in downtown Kingston
press to zoom
Street dog feeding
press to zoom
Kingston street dogs
press to zoom
Grannie dog
press to zoom
1/1
Where Did Your Donations Go?
KCAW 1-2022.png
KCAW through 2021.png
KCAW pie chart 2020

KCAW Updates from the AKI Blog

KCAW in pictures & videos
Note from AKI Founder Karen Menczer

I lived in Jamaica for ten months, and spent every Saturday with Deborah, taking food to people to supplement their dogs' and cats' diets, explaining to people that dogs need to eat more than once a week (a misconception that seemed fairly common among pet owners), convincing people that their cats and dogs need water just as humans do, taking care of their ill and injured dogs and cats, getting their pets spayed and neutered, and visiting and feeding street dogs and cats, who would have received no other care if it wasn't for Deborah/KCAW.

 

I went with Deborah only on Saturdays, but Deborah takes different routes every single day of the week, where she drops off food, checks on dogs and cats, and talks to neighborhood people about their pets and the street cats and dogs.

 

The people-as well as the animals-on her rounds expect her, and if she doesn't show up, her phone starts ringing: "Ms. Binns, are you ok? We didn't see you today and we're worried about you." Deborah is responsible for getting hundreds of dogs and cats sterilized, and for helping care for over 500 animals on a regular basis-and tens of thousands of animals over her animal welfare career.